BIDS App Singularity container: "Exec format error"

I apologize for posting here since I am unable to post a new thread for some reason (perhaps my account is new).

I just started exploring the BIDS app for MRtrix3_connectome, downloaded a singularity image for it, and tried to use the following commands to get it running:

unset PYTHONPATH
export PYTHONNOUSERSITE=1
dataDIR=/PROJECTS/data_PILOT
sing_img=/PROJECTS/singularity/mrtrix3_connectome.simg

module load singularity

cd $dataDIR

singularity run -B /PROJECTS:/PROJECTS $sing_img $dataDIR $dataDIR/output participant --participant_label sub-pilot20190225 --parcellation desikan

This is a BIDS validated dataset, however, I am getting the following
error:/.singularity.d/runscript: 3: exec: /mrtrix3_connectome.py: Exec format error

Does anyone know how this can be fixed? I am sorry but I am very new to MRtrix3. Thanks for your help.

Hi @fmriguy,

From memory we had to forbid brand new accounts from creating new topics in order to prevent spambots. I’ve moved it to a new topic for you, and you should be free to do such from now on :+1:

I don’t actually (yet) provide the requisite file for building a Singularity image for this tool. Either you’ve used the docker2singularity conversion tool (which I’ve not used myself for a long time), or the location where you’ve accessed the container is in fact a fork of my own work and so I can’t really help a great deal. It seems to relate to what’s referred to in Docker speak as the “entrypoint”, seemingly trying to interpret that file as a binary executable when it is in fact a Python script. Normally this is identified based on the shebang at the head of the file, but perhaps Singularity requires this to be more explicit during container production?

@lvinokur: Ever encountered this one?

Rob

1 Like

Hi @fmriguy ,
I complete second what @rsmith said and will just add some details :