CFE Multiple/Partial Correlation

Hello all,
I’d like to run some multiple and partial correlation analyses using CFE. I have a single group with 3 partially correlated, continuous traitlike variables for each subject. I am not an expert in contrast matrices, so I wanted to see if I could get some help constructing the appropriate contrast matrices. Assuming I have a design matrix that is a column of 1’s, and then 3 columns (one for each continuous variable):

1. What would be the correct contrast matrix for a full multiple regression? Would it just be [0 1 1 1]?
  2. What about partial correlations? If I’m interested in variable 1, is it just [0 1 0 0]?
  3. Do I need to de-mean the variables in advance?
  4. Would the negative option here be the equivalent of making any 1’s negative? (Test for negative correlation)

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Hi John,

While I feel as though my competence with the GLM is improving, I actually don’t have much ‘conventional’ stats experience, so I often run into issues trying to translate between what users are trying to communicate, and a numerical expression of the model & hypothesis.

In this case, I’m stuck on “full multiple regression”. What I suspect this phrase is supposed to be referring to is that all variables of interest are being regressed against the data simultaneously within a single model. If this is the case, then it’s the inclusion of all three variables within your design matrix that is providing the “full multiple regression”. The problem then is that this provides no information about your hypothesis regarding how the data may fit this model.