Estimating Response functions from the DWI-data using an unsupervised method

Hello all,

Could someone please let me know which function in MRTRIX deploys this method: " Unsupervised 3-tissue response function estimation from single-shell or multi-shell diffusion MR data without a co-registered T1 image" and how can I change the default value of FA?

Thank you,
Mahmoud

Hi Mahmoud,
That appears to refer to dwi2response with the dhollander algorithm. There is an -fa argument to change the default FA value. If I’m not mistaken, this is only used in the initial “crude” separation of WM from CSF/GM, with the separations being refined later using other methods.

https://mrtrix.readthedocs.io/en/3.0_rc3/reference/scripts/dwi2response.html#dwi2response-dhollander

John

Note: I am not an mrtrix developer; you may get more detailed responses from them.

3 Likes

Just to confirm: @johncplass is entirely correct (and complete). To add to that: for most scenarios, there’s no reason to touch the -fa option (and you’d be best advised to leave it at it’s default of 0.2). The only real scenarios I’ve come across where it is advised to change it (and hence why it’s available as a tweakable option) is overall low anisotropy in your dataset as a whole. In practice, this could be:

• low(er) myeline content, or increased extra-axonal content of the tissue; that would e.g. be babies and beyond (neonates, …). I suppose you were asking about this option in the first place because you already came across this, but just to document it for other forum readers, here’s such a case in practice: https://www.researchgate.net/publication/324770875_Feasibility_and_benefits_of_3-tissue_constrained_spherical_deconvolution_for_studying_the_brains_of_babies . That’s 5 month old (counting from birth) babies, and at a “decent” b-value (ballpark 2800~3000).