Help with understanding results

Hello,

I am new to using MRtrix and I was hoping to get some feedback about the results I have. I followed the instructions to perform fixel-based analysis using single tissue CSD. The data I’m using is b=3000 s/mm2 with 60 directions.

Below is a figure of the fixels that show p<0.05 when looking for group differences between the two groups I have. It looks like the forceps major but also looks like it could be in the ventricles. The groups have difference in ventricle size so this is a bit unsettling. With the high b value there should be little signal from the CSF, so I’m not sure if the differences in the ventricles would be causing this? Would using multiple tissue CSD and fitting models to only WM and CSF help in this case? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!!
13%20PM

Best wishes,
Jane

Yes, I can see why that might be a concern. The fact that the significant fixels appear to extend into the ventricles isn’t necessarily a concern, as long as the voxels concerned do contain a non-negligible partial volume of WM. With your high b-value, the CSF signal will indeed be close to completely suppressed, so the signal from those voxels would be dominated by the WM contribution – and as long as there’s enough signal to give you a supra-threshold fixel, it will be included in the analysis.

But ruling out a difference due to imperfect registration is a trickier one. For that, I think your best bet might be to generate an average ODF map for each group, and compare them visually. If you see a clear difference in the extent of the ventricles in this region, that would definitely suggest that there might indeed be a problem with registration. But given what you’re showing, it would take quite a big mismatch to result in such an extensive difference…