How to creat Voxel to voxel connectivity matrix?

Dear all,

I am a beginner about Mrtrix3. I can use tckgen -seed_random_per_voxel to get the voxel to nodes connectivity matrix. And now I want to get the connectivity from ROI to another ROI, which is a voxel to voxel connectivity matrix. But I don’t know how to get it through Mrtrix. It’s kind of like the -omatrix2 command in FSL.

I will appreciate that if you can give me a solution. Thank you very much.

Thanks,
Liang Shi

Hi Liang,

Such a functionality is not currently implemented in MRtrix3, mostly because developers simply haven’t had a use for such. There are quite a number of different ways in which one could conceivably go about achieving such, with varying degrees of coding requirements / computational efficiency.

The question I would pose first, since it influences the amount of time it would require of me to explain: Would you be looking for an individual streamline to contribute node-to-node connectivity for all voxels traversed by that streamline, or only the two voxels in which the streamline endpoints reside?

Hello Dr. Robert Smith,

Thank you very much for your reply.

The target is to get the voxel to voxel connectivity matrix between left thalamus area and left M1 area.

Firstly, I use left thalamus as the seed region and left M1 as the targeted region. The command

tckgen -algorithm iFOD2 -seed_random_per_voxel L_tha.mif 50 -act 5tt_coreg.mif -backtrack -seed_undirectional wmfod_norm.mif ltha_all.tck

is used to generate streamlines of the left thalamus area to all the brain.

Secondly, I use

tckedit -include L_4.mif ltha_all.tck tha_l4.tck

command to generate the streamline from left thalamus to left M1.

Then I use

tckconvert tha_l4_1.tck tha_l4/output-.txt

command generate the txt file of streamlines. Each streamline position is included in one txt file.

The questions are as follows: