How to register DTIs

Hi all, I am kind of new in this topics, so I I apologize in advance for the questions.

I am trying to do a registration of DTIs with mrregister, and I am using as a template the one provided by fsl (data/standard/MNI152_T1_1mm.nii.gz), but the result image shows nothing (everything is black).
I also did some preprocessing in the images (dwidenoise, dwipreproc and dwibiascorrect, in that order), and after the registration I want to do the segmentation of the images; and after that, I want to perform the global tractography (tckglobal). Here are my questions:

1. Is it ok to use that template to register the DTIs?
2. I also read that is better to register the structural image to the diffusion image, so, should I register fsl’s template to the DTIs I have? Or do I need another image to use as a template?
3. Is it recommended to first register the images and after do the segmentation?
4. If the answere of question 3 is “yes”, should I use that template or the one that only have the brain in the image (skull stripped)(data/standard/MNI152_T1_1mm_brain.nii.gz) ?
5. In the segmentation, should I provide the anatomical image registered to the DTIs? or viceversa?
6. The same of question 5 but for global tractography.

Thanks a lot.

Hola Carolina! :smiley: :colombia: :smiley:

I only can give you some answers because I don’t understand really well what are you trying to do, it sounds like at the end you want the a connectome but I cannot be sure :woman_shrugging:

I think it depends on your goal, If you will compare subjects you probably need to work in a common space (standard template o population specific template).