Patient vs Control

Beginner here. I need to do a a group analysis (comparison of patients vs control). However, none of the tutorials I’ve encountered guides you to this type of analysis. Any advice or guidance (or link to a tutorial) will be welcome. Thank you. Oren

Dear @polivaoren ,

The easiest way is to follow the FBA pipeline (single or multi-tissue depending on your data) and at the statistical analysis step (step 23 or 24) perform a two-group unpaired t-test for a simple comparison of your groups. This will tell you whether there is a difference between your groups on either FD, FC or FDC within any fixel of the brain.

If you have any specific queries along the way, feel free to ask here.

Nick

Dear @NicDC ,

Hi, I am also new to the DTI world. And I would like to perform a study of healthy controls and patients regarding kurtosis. I have the DTI images focused for kurtosis analysis but I can’t find a pipeline to perform the processing. Do you have knowledge of any pipeline I can follow.

Juan.

Hello @Juan_Quizhpilema ,

I haven’t done kurtosis imaging myself, and from previous posts on the forum, it looks like there might be better equipped packages to perform this. Check out PyDesigner for instance.

All the best,
Nick

Thank you for the explanation. I’m looking at step 23 and it asks me to provide a files.txt , design_matrix.txt and contrast_matrix.txt files. However, the tutorial doesn’t provide an example of how these files should look like. Can you explain to me how these files should look like (or provide me with examples). That will be extremely helpful. Thank you

No worries…

Files.txt is just a list of your participant ID/label as contained in the fixel directory, one per line so something like:

sub-CON01
sub-CON02
sub-CON03
sub-PAT01
sub-PAT02
sub-PAT03