Upgrade issues

I’m not a software developer so apologies if this is a naive question!I have just tried to upgrade myversion of MRTRIX3, but seem to get stuck during the build part. I get this error message. Any tips on what is going on? I"m running this on ubuntu.

ERROR: ( 54/443) [CC] release/cmd/mrregister.o

ERROR: ( 54/443) [CC] release/cmd/mrregister.o

g++ -c -std=c++11 -mno-avx -pthread -fPIC -march=native -DMRTRIX_WORD64 -isystem /usr/include/eigen3 -Wall -O2 -DNDEBUG -Isrc -Icmd -I./lib -Icmd -isystem /usr/include/eigen3 cmd/mrregister.cpp -o release/cmd/mrregister.o

failed with output

g++: internal compiler error: Killed (program cc1plus)
Please submit a full bug report,
with preprocessed source if appropriate.
See <file:///usr/share/doc/gcc-4.8/README.Bugs> for instructions.

You are likely running out of RAM. Try:

NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=1 ./build

Just wanted to point out that it doesn’t look like you’re running the latest version… Either that or you didn’t run ./configure again before invoking ./build. Those -noavx and -march=native options to the compiler are no longer current, and output files should no longer end up in the release folder…

But I doubt that’s the reason for the crashes you’re seeing, as @maxpietsch says, this is typically what happens when the compiler runs out of RAM - and for some reason, mrregister is particularly demanding to build…

Thanks guys. RAM issues are not new to me! i did repeat the ,/configure command before ./build.

Hi Rishma,

Definitely check these update instructions: http://www.mrtrix.org/2017/04/23/mrtrix3-version-3-0-release-candidate-1/

As @jdtournier mentioned, things have (drastically) changed since this update!

Cheers,
Thijs

Are you sure? Did you do a git pull to update the code before running ./configure again? If that’s the case, something odd is going on… What does git describe report?

git describe gives me this:

0.3.15-523-g5d84119