Response function estimation for quality control

Dear MRtrix3 experts,

I am fairly new to using MRtrix3, so please excuse a fairly basic technical question:

I visualized the response function estimation of my dti data (b=1500, 2x64 directions) with the values 303.4892197 -153.3113817 47.84516512 -10.20100441 1.233455441.

It looks flat and broadest in the axial plane (as I guess it is supposed to).

My question is:
Are there “normal values” (depending on gradient strength / directions) to check the quality of my (individual) DTI data?
Would that even be sensible / intended?

Maybe I did not understand the concept of the response function correctly, so any insights would be appreciated.

Hi,

So there are certain expectations regarding how the response function ‘should’ look; for instance:

• The magnitude of the first term should be approximately the mean DWI image intensity in the white matter.
  • From left to right, the values generally decrease by a factor of ~ 3-5, and switch sign between alternate values.
  • Ideally, the magnitude should decrease monotonically from the X-Y plane toward the Z axis, though it’s not uncommon for there to be a little ‘bulb’ along the Z axis.

Regarding the appearance itself, the example that comes to mind is Donald’s paper, where one of the figures shows estimated responses from b=1000-5000 - but as angular plots rather than surfaces.

We’ve toyed with the idea of providing pre-defined response functions for particular b-values, as we expect the shape to be dependent on the b-value only; though receiver coil gain and SNR may also play a part.

Probably the more appropriate test to do for the sake of quality control is to check the locations of the voxels used to estimate the response function (-voxels option in the dwi2response script). These should make sense anatomically as single-fibre regions, and should appear to contain a single fibre following application of CSD.

Rob

Hi @TCsquared,