5tt multi-shell response functions - Global tractography

Dear experts,
I am a beginner on MRtrix, interested in global tracktography. I am trying to figure out how
to create multi-shell response functions without T1 data. Is there an alternative way to
create 5tt.mif ?
Please advice, Thanks, Carlos.

Hi Carlos,

Nice to hear you’re interested in global tractography. The issue of response function (RF) estimation without T1 is certainly a very relevant one, and one that’s also discussed in section 5.2 of the paper.

The core issue is to select reliable voxel masks for CSF, GM, and single-fibre WM, in which the RFs are subsequently estimated. The main advantage of having a T1w-image is that it provides a high degree of confidence that the segmented voxel masks indeed correspond with WM, GM, and CSF tissues, thus supporting the reliability of the estimated RFs.

If no T1 is available, you could think of some other heuristic to segment “pure” WM, GM, and CSF voxels in the DWI data directly. An example of such approach is the dhollander method in dwi2response, which is very user friendly because you don’t need the 5tt segmentation. However, the selected voxel masks may not always provide the same level of trust as a T1 segmentation, especially in pathology or preclinical data.

Another approach that I personally find more interesting, is to estimate RFs and ODFs simultaneously from the DWI data in a way that maximally supports the underpinning model assumptions in MT-CSD. In recent work we developed a method to do exactly that: a fully unsupervised decomposition of DWI data into convolutional components associated with WM, GM, and CSD in the healthy adult brain, but also e.g. with edema in pathology. Unfortunately this is not available in MRtrix yet, but if you get in touch I can set you up.

I hope that answers your question. If not, let us know.

Cheers,
Daan