AFQ tract segmentation using MRtrix3 WB tractography

Hello MRtrix3 Community,

I’m wondering if anyone has experience working with MRtrix3 and AFQ. I have data that I preprocessed and conducted whole brain tractography for using MRtrix, and I would like to use AFQ to do tract segmentation. Does anyone have tips for creating the dt6.mat file required for AFQ based on data preprocessed in MRtrix?
Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thank you!
Meaghan

Hi Meaghan,

I’m no expert, but I have successfully used AFQ with MRtrix3 before, so I’ll share what I know.

Creating a dt6.mat file should precede whole brain tractography. To create a dt6 file, you need a T1 image in ACPC and the corresponding diffusion scans, then you register the diffusion scans to the T1 image using dtiInit function in MrVista. This step produces the dt6 file you’re looking for.

After running dtiInit, you can then use the T1-registered diffusion scans with MRtrix to perform whole brain tractography. Once that’s done, the produced .tck file can then be fed into the AFQ pipeline, along with the corresponding dt6 file.

Hope that helped!

Cheers,
Joe

Hi Joe,

Thanks for your response!
To make sure I understand, do I need to create the dt6 files before both preprocessing and whole brain tractography? Once I derive the dt6 file, can I run it through the standard mrtrix preprocessing pipeline, or does dtiInit accomplish some of the preprocessing steps as well?

Many thanks,
Meaghan

Hey,

I’m assuming by “preprocessing” you mean motion, eddy current and susceptibility artifact correction? If that’s the case, then it depends on which program you want to use to preprocess your data.