Beginner: DWI preprocessing for tracking (TrackVis)

Hi MRtrix experts,

I am working with a DTI study with the following parameters:

• b=3000 s/mm2
  • 32 directions acquired twice (each time a b0 scan was obtained at the begining)
  • No extra b0s (therefore no chance of applying TOPUP)
  • Halfscan: 61%

I trying to use MRtrix3 software to solve crossing fibres problem in my tractography (particulary in Aslant tracks), but I am a beginner in this software. So, I have followed the “DWI denoising” and “Basic DWI processing” tutorials to get a final .tck which I have converted to .trk using TrackConverter tool (https://github.com/MarcCote/tractconverter) for viewing on TrackVis tool. However, I didn’t get good enough results.

Particulary, I ran the following pipeline:

1. dwidenoise dti_native.nii.gz dti_denoise.mif
  2. dwipreproc -rpe_none -fslgrad dti.bvec dti.bval AP dti_denoise.mif dti_preproc.nii
  3. dwi2mask -fslgrad dti.bvec dti.bval dti_preproc.mif dti_mask_mrtrix.mif
  4. dwi2response tournier -fslgrad dti.bvec dti.bval dti_preproc.mif RF.txt
  5. dwi2fod csd dti_preproc.mif RF.txt dti_preproc_FOD.mif -mask dti_mask_mrtrix.mif -fslgrad dti.bvec dti.bval –force
  6. tckgen dti_preproc_FOD.mif tracks_80000_iFOD2.tck -seed_image dti_preproc.mif -mask dti_mask_mrtrix.mif -fslgrad dti.bvec dti.bval -force -algorithm iFOD2 -number 80000
  7. TractConverter.py –i tracks_80000_iFOD2.tck -o T80000_iFOD2.trk -a corregistered_T1_image.nii

Note: In the step 3, I modified the dti_mask_mrtrix with mrview to get a more precise mask. In the step 6 I put 80000 streamlines to have sufficient fibers for tractography.

The results of each step are shown below:

Figure 1 (Response Function from step 4)

Figure 2 (FOD from step 5)

Figure 3 (2D tractography from step 6)

Figure 4 (3D Aslant tracks in Trackvis).

After all the steps I obtained a complete reconstrution of Aslant tracks (Figure 4). But It has a poor number of tracks and noise in comparison with this: