CSD on optic nerve

Dear Matrix experts,

I am a newbie to tractography analysis, trying to perform CSD and probabilistic tractography for the optic nerve (ON), with images of a single-shell DWI (b0, b1000, ~32 directions), and an additional inversed phase encoding direction T2 image and a T1.

I have preprocessed DWI images with dwidenoise, mrdegibbs, dwifslpreproc and registerred dwi to T1. Before tractography, I made the eyeball and optic chiasm ROI images based on T1, and a mask including the orbital cavity. However, after trying different algorithms in dwi2response (including dhollander, manual, msmt_5tt, tax, tournier) and estimating FODs using the txt file, the command tckgen iFOD2 could not generate ONs track between the ROIs with the generated FOD files, but tckgen Tensor_Prob with DWI worked and did a barely satisfactory job. It seems that the above dwi2response algorithms separate wm, gm and csf, but exclude ONs.

My question is here: is there any command in Mrtrix3 could perform CSD and probabilistic tractography on the ONs?

I really would appreciate any help.

Regards,
ZT

Hi @lautin,

It shouldn’t be a problem, especially if you can obtain streamlines using the tensor approach. Could you provide more detail on the exact set of commands that you used? I think it might also be useful to show some screenshots of the ROI images that you used, and also the contents of the response files generated by the various commands you tried (it’s probably enough just to show those generated using the dhollander and tournier approaches).

All the best,
Donald

Hi Dr. Tournier,

Thank you very much for replying and offering to help.
‘align.mif’ is the preprocessed file after registration. Below are some screenshots of the ‘R_eye.nii’, ‘L_eye.nii’ and ‘OC.nii’ ROI images of optic nerve heads and optic chiasm, respectively, and also the ‘align.mif’ overlay.

Below is the set of commands I used for CSD and FOD: