Denoising approach

HI.
Hi. I am a PhD student working on HCP data for a comparison between dMRI at 3T and at 7T. I am especially focusing on denoising approach in order to inspect how much diffusion metrics differences depend on noise modelling. I would like to denoise data according to standard Rician model ( the one implemented in Mrtrix3 software for example) and using autodmri, which is an algorithm able at estimating noise without assuming an a priori model. If I wanted to denoise data according to these 2 different models, in which step of the preprocessing pipeline should I denoise? In other words, with which data should I cope with?
Moreover, different noise estimate models and relative denoising approaches exist (MP-PCA used by Mrtrix3, PIESNO, LANE …) I would like to know which noise model eddy uses and if I need to start from unprocessed data, could I denoise them with different methods and then apply the rest of HCP preprocessing pipeline?

thank you,

Rosella

thank you,

Rosella

Hi Rosella,

Just to clarify: MP-PCA in itself assumes a Gaussian noise distribution. Rician bias correction can be done in a two-pass approach based on the method of moments (see discussion in Veraart et al., NeuroImage 2016), but this is not (yet) implemented in MRtrix3. I had a quick glance at the autodmri preprint but I don’t feel in a position to comment at this point. I suggest you speak to @samuelstjean if you haven’t already.

We always recommend denoising as the first step in the processing pipeline, i.e., immediately after MR reconstruction (see the docs).

As far as I know, eddy uses a Gaussian noise model with uniform standard deviation, which is estimated using cross-validation during its “hyperparameter optimisation” at the start. There is some debate about how prior denoising may affect this hyperparameter optimisation, but like I said above, we nevertheless recommend to denoise first (at least for MP-PCA).

1 Like

Hi.