Differences in re-running tractography and connectome generation

Apologies for a long slightly rambling posts with lots of different questions, Im mostly keen to see people’s opinions and any conventions and glaring oversights I am missing. Im a Maths PhD student looking at network analysis from dMRI for a particular cohort at my institution.

We are currently running tractography using tckgen with the following options. iFOD2 (as the default) with a cutoff and seed cuttoff of 0.1 using -act (supplying a 5tt image) with -backtrack and -crop_at_gmwmi to generate 10million streamlines, all other options are defaults.

We then use sift down to 1million with the tcksift command passing only the standard input output files, the number and the act image as options

Where we are using the Desikan-Killiany atlas from a freesurfer segmentation - and using the labelconvert and labelsgmfix and hence getting an 84 node network.

Currently in tck2connectome we pass the following options -symmetric -zero_diagonal -scale_invnodevol -out_assignments

I’m aware that it might not be best to use our current scaling by node volume after applying sift however I don’t believe this would explain the majority of differences I think I’m seeing. I am wondering if there are any options currently passed that could be cause for inconsistencies or potetial different options or values that might increase consistency with the pipeline.

I’m also intrigued by what you would expect the density of produced connectomes to be, as from my ‘uneducated’ prospective it seems high ranging from around 58 to 71 percent of potential edges dependant on subject.