Edge-wise connectome analysis : how to define hub region?

Dear MRtrix3 experts,

Hello, I am currently studying the structural network within a disease group and its correlated relationship with the behavioral score.
I decided to run TFNBS to avoid arbitrariness in cluster forming threshold selection. However, since it is an edge-wise analysis, unlike NBS, it shows many single edges (which is obvious) as significant.
I tried to identify the hub region using properties of graph theory (degree, betweenness centrality, etc) within the significant nodes, but few hub regions are quite hard to interpret.

I want to narrow down the network to specify few nodes to be significant.
Is there any great approach to identify more significant nodes/edges for edge-wise analysis?

All discussion and comments are welcomed!

Hi Jean,

I suspect this one is going to require some careful disentanglement… grabs drink

However, since it is an edge-wise analysis, unlike NBS, it shows many single edges (which is obvious) as significant.

Trigger Warning: Rob Rant. :laughing:

You can say that unlike NBS, TFNBS has the capacity to attribute statistical significance to individual edges. However from the standpoint of the statistical inference pipeline and its generalisation, you can actually conceptualise NBS as being “an edge-wise analysis”; and indeed it is implemented as such in the MRtrix3 code. The catch is that the hypothesis being tested is “the size of the connected supra-threshold cluster of which this edge is a member is greater than that predicted by chance”. Of course, if the size of such a connected supra-threshold cluster is greater than predicted by chance, then that statement will be equivalently true for all edges within that supra-threshold cluster, and the null hypothesis will be rejected for all such edges.

If that comes off as too cryptic, feel free to ignore; but personally I find it insightful to think of NBS in this way.