Error: FSLDIR is not set

I have a problem with running the 5ttgen command in my python script to premask the HCP data.
I used exactly the command from the manual:

5ttgen fsl T1w_acpc_dc_restore_brain.nii.gz 5TT.mif -premasked

But then this error appears:

5ttgen: Note that this script makes use of commands / algorithms that have relevant articles for citation; INCLUDING FROM EXTERNAL SOFTWARE PACKAGES. Please consult the help page (-help option) for more information.
5ttgen:
5ttgen: Generated temporary directory: /tmp/5ttgen-tmp-RK5S80/
Command: mrconvert /home/ubuntu/E130-Daten/IngoHermann/111111/T1w/Diffusion/T1w_acpc_dc_restore_brain.nii.gz /tmp/5ttgen-tmp-RK5S80/input.mif
[ERROR] Environment variable FSLDIR is not set; please run appropriate FSL configuration script

I’m very new in this topic and I don’t know how to set the variable FSLDIR.
Thank you in advance!

And now a new error appears but I tried everything even this but I get this error.

[ERROR] Atlases required for FSL’s FIRST program not installed;
Please install fsl-first-data using your relevant package manager

And I finally solved it :smiley:

FSLDIR=/usr/share/fsl/5.0
. {FSLDIR}/etc/fslconf/fsl.sh PATH={FSLDIR}/bin:${PATH}
export FSLDIR PATH

I hope this helps also someone else !

1 Like

Hi @Ingo,

You probably don’t want to set the FSLDIR environment variable to contain the entire PATH in the fourth line of your example; the former should simply be the path to the FSL root directory, whereas the latter contains multiple paths corresponding to many non-FSL executable file locations. Not sure whether or not this may cause FSL commands to hiccup. It would be preferable to set FSLDIR to just the root FSL directory.

Cheers
Rob

Hi Rob,