Estimate response functions on already segmented neonatal data

Dear MRtrix-experts

I’m quite new to the field of diffusion and I would like to estimate the response function for single shell data (b = 0; b = 1000 s/m2) of a neonatal dataset. Since for the segmentation of neonatal data developmental aspects must be considered, I’ve already segmented the T2 image of the neonatal brain in 9 classes (among others WM, GM, CSF) using an in-house developed segmentation algorithm and coregistered the T2 image with the diffusion space. Now, I would like to use my segmentation information from the T2 image for the dwi2response function. Since I have multi-tissue data, I would like to use the dhollander algorithm (and lower the FA threshold since neonates have lower FA). However, it is not clear to me how I can combine my segmentation information with the dwi2response inputs “tissue_response.txt”.

According to this blog entry (Contents of response_*.txt - #2 by jdtournier) the txt-files’ “rows corresponds to a different shell (in order of increasing b -value), and for each row, the values correspond to the even, m =0 (axially symmetric) SH coefficients of the expected DW signal”.

Has anyone an idea how I can make use of my neonatal specific T2 segmentations for the dwi2response function?

Thank you very much for your help!
Kind regards,
Anna

Welcome Anna!

Your use case is slightly unusual, and might warrant producing an alternative dwi2response algorithm rather than trying to use the existing code as it currently stands.