Functional Connectivity results as seeds

Hi I am new to diffusion imaging and have a very basic question. I have run functional connectivity analyses using a parcellation scheme. From this, I have a small number of regions that are related to a clinical measure. Is it possible to use these regions as seeds? If so, can you guide me in right direction? My goal is to determine if the abnormalities in tracts from these regions differ based on severity of clinical measure. Thank you.

Welcome @cchin!

There’s a few different ways that this could be done. But given your functional connectivity analysis is based on a parcellation scheme, I would personally suggest that rather than attempting to use the identified regions as tractography “seeds”, you should instead generate the whole-brain structural connectome based on the same parcellation as was used in your functional connectivity analysis, and then simply focus your interrogation of the resulting connectome matrix to only consider those edges associated with your prior identified regions.

I never feel comfortable tooting my own horn, but my recent preprint is relevant here also, as it demonstrates why it is beneficial from a methodological perspective to utilise whole-brain tractography even if one is only interested in quantifying specific pathways of interest, as well as how the connectome framework is essentially equivalent to having a large number of pathways of interest.

Cheers
Rob

Hello Rob