Functional ROI for targeted tracking

Hi!
I would like to make use of fMRI data to define ROI that can be used for targeted tracking. What’s the best approach in your opinion? What about creating a functional group ROI which can be warped to native space (and possibly intersected with the corresponding anatomical freesurfer parcellation) and used as a seed region, perhaps in conjunction with ACT (e.g. cropping at the gmwmi)? An alternative could be to simply use the functional ROI as a reference and draw the ROI on the group FA map (and then warp…). I’m currently working with data based on 45 directions and b1000, which might set some limits…
Cheers,
Örjan

Hi Orjan,

I’m no expert on the relative merits of different registration strategies, but I can comment on the use of ACT in this context.

Generally in this scenario I suggest running ACT with the -seed_gmwmi option. This will enforce all streamline seeds to lie within the ROI, propagating from the isocontour between WM and GM. However, the mechanism by which this seeder operates is important. Seeds are drawn at random within the ROI, and each is then optimised toward the GM-WM interface based on trilinear interpolation. Therefore, seeds that are right in the middle of the cortical ribbon, nearer the outer layers, may in fact fail to find this interface, as there will be no underlying tissue gradient, and therefore no streamline will be propagated. This means that your seed ROI needs to be large enough such that it includes the GM-WM interface of your grey matter of interest (preferably including the adjacent superficial WM as well: the seed point optimisation occurs from both directions).

Although 45 directions and b=1000 may not be ideal for tracking, that’s actually more-or-less independent of the mechanism you use to define your streamline seeds.

Cheers
Rob

Thank you for the quick reply!