Generate FA values of .tck file

Dear Experts:

I have generated a “DTI_30000.tck” file (The number of tracks is 30000). The command:
$ tckgen -algorithm SD_Stream DTI_fod.mif DTI_30000.tck -seed_image DTI_mask.nii -mask DTI_mask.nii -number 30000
Then, I want to generate a fa.mif file of the “DTI_30000.tck” file, so that each point of the trajectory corresponding to a FA value. Is there any method to reach the goal?
I am a beginner of MRtrix3, Thanks for your help!

Sincerely,
Chaoqing

Hey Chaoqing,

I’m not sure if this is the correct answer to your question, but I recently worked out how to create connectomes based off of FA values. The first step in deriving this may be what you’re looking for:

tcksample trackfile FAimg output

The corresponding webpage is here: http://mrtrix.readthedocs.io/en/latest/reference/commands/tcksample.html?highlight=tcksample

I also think this would be of use for you to read: http://mrtrix.readthedocs.io/en/latest/tutorials/FAQ.html#tck2connectome-no-longer-has-the-contrast-mean-scalar-option

Anyway, I’m no expert by any means, but I saw your question & thought these pages would be relevant to your question. Good luck!

Then, I want to generate a fa.mif file of the “DTI_30000.tck” file, so that each point of the trajectory corresponding to a FA value. Is there any method to reach the goal?

If what you’re looking for is the underlying FA value of each streamline point, then the resulting data will not be an image (and so would be best not to be referred to as “a fa.mif”). The tcksample command is indeed what you’re looking for. However, unlike the documentation page to which Amanda provided a link, you do not want to use the -stat_tck option. The purpose of this option is to compute some statistic from the values sampled along each streamline, such that only a single scalar value per streamline is produced. In your case, you explicitly want an FA value per streamline point, and hence you don’t want to use this option.

Cheers
Rob