How to compute AFD?

Hi there,

I am new to the MRtrix environment. I am interested in computing AFD maps for my data. What is the easiest way to do that? Is there a specific command for that? I looked into the documentation and I saw the afdconnectivity command. Is this the one I am supposed to use?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Julio Villalon
University of Southern California

Hi Julio,
Welcome to the new forum. Our first customer! No prizes sorry.

In our original work we computed the AFD as the FOD amplitude for each direction in a set of directions equally distributed on a sphere. You can do this with sh2amp. However, more recently we compute the integral of the AFD over a FOD ‘lobe’ (where each lobe represents a unique fibre population within a voxel, i.e. a fixel). This can be computed using fod2fixel, and you can visualise the *.msf file output with the vector plot tool in mrview.

Very soon we will release code for FOD-based registration, which will enable you to perform a whole-brain fixel-based analysis as described in the CFE paper.

A word of warning though, to ensure the AFD is quantitative and comparable across groups you need to make sure your images are intensity normalised (across subjects), and bias field corrected. You also need to perform the CSD using a single response function (we normally use the group average). I’ll add a tutorial on how to perform these steps in the coming weeks.