Mislabelled voxels from 5ttgen fsl

Hi MRtrix3 experts,

I’m a newbie trying to create structural connectomes using ACT. I’ve come across 2 issues with the 5tt image created by 5ttgen fsl that I’m hoping you can help me resolve.

1. Voxels adjacent to the subcortex are labelled as cortical grey matter. I’m assuming that FIRST is under-estimating subcortical grey matter relative to FAST, as discussed here: Freesurfer 5tt & cortical ROIs?.

2. Hyperintensities outside the cortex (e.g. optic nerve) are labelled as white matter. I’ve tried using a mask, and this resolves the issue considerably, but there are still some problematic voxels that remain. And tckgen then proceeds to track streamlines through this area.

I’ve noticed that both these issues are resolved when using 5ttgen freesurfer, but this produces much more voxelised edges, and is less accurate in the subcortical and white matter segmentations. So I’m wondering what’s the better option in this situation - fsl or freesurfer? Is it possible to combine the 2 algorithms somehow, or are there other workarounds to these issues?

Thanks in advance!

Nandi

Welcome Nandi!

Voxels adjacent to the subcortex are labelled as cortical grey matter.

Yes, this is a limitation of the specific algorithmic combination of information from different sources in the 5ttgen fsl algorithm. It simply takes the whole-brain WM-GM-CSF segmentation from FAST, and over-writes the segmentations from FIRST over the top of it. There is a hidden assumption here that any voxels within / around the sub-cortical grey matter structures that FAST classifies in any fraction as GM will be a subset of the voxels segmented by FIRST. Where this is broke,m and there are voxels outside of the FIRST segmentation that FAST classified as GM in some part, they are simply left as-is. This wasn’t a problem for any of the datasets I tested on when I first developed this algorithm so it got left as-is… in reality it’s a pretty “dumb” algorithm.