Mrtrix error

Hello all,

I am new to DWI/DKI and Mrtrix preprocessing.

I am using the following commands to preprocess my data which does not have reverse encoding in VMware Ubuntu.

1. mrconvert -fslgrad *.bvec *.bval *.nii.gz *.mif
  2. dwidenoise *.mif *_denoised.mif
  3. mrconvert *_denoised.mif *_denoised.nii
  4. mrcalc *.mif *_denoised.mif -subtract *_noise.mif
  5. dwifslpreproc *_denoised.mif *_preproc.mif -rpe_none -pe_dir j no_cleanup

I get following warnngs and errors at the dwifslpreproc command. I do not know how to resolve this. Can anyone help??

dwifslpreproc: [WARNING] sampling of b=1000 shell is strongly asymmetric; distortion correction may benefit from use of: -eddy_options " … --slm=linear … "
dwifslpreproc: [WARNING] sampling of b=2500 shell is strongly asymmetric; distortion correction may benefit from use of: -eddy_options " … --slm=linear … "

[ERROR] eddy* --imain=eddy_in.nii --mask=eddy_mask.nii --acqp=eddy_config.txt --index=eddy_indices.txt --bvecs=bvecs --bvals=bvals --very_verbose --out=dwi_post_eddy --verbose (app.py:199)
dwifslpreproc: [ERROR] Information from failed command:

eddy_cpu
========
/home/abhishek/fsl/share/fsl/bin/eddy_cpu: line 2: 235375 Killed /home/abhishek/fsl/bin/eddy_cpu “$@”

dwifslpreproc:
dwifslpreproc: [ERROR] For debugging, inspect contents of scratch directory: /home/abhishek/dwifslpreproc-tmp-87SI8D/

Commands typically get ‘killed’ due to running out of RAM. How much RAM do you have access to on your system? I expect it won’t be all that much if you’re running in a virtual machine.

And how big are the images you’re trying to process? You’ll need at least double the size of your input (uncompressed) file for eddy to be able to operate – and probably considerably more than that in practice (not something I’ve assessed in any detail!).

Cheers,
Donald

Hello @jdtournier,