Piping going wrong

Hi Folks
Another beginner question…
I am having trouble using the piping command.

I have two guesses, either I am using some wrong character, OR it could be that on the cluster I am using (m3.massive.org.au) the pipe command tries to place it’s temp file in a location it’s not allowed.
Could that be possible?
M.

I am no expert in regard to any of this, but I would look into building singularity containers to run your pipelines (no pun intended). Gets rid of a lot of this kind of heart ache when running on clusters.

I also found that there is an option to set the location of the temp dir
https://mrtrix.readthedocs.io/en/latest/reference/environment_variables.html#envvar-MRTRIX_TMPFILE_DIR

so I tried
export MRTRIX_TMPFILE_DIR=/scratch/db18/temp
which I know exists and allows me access, but the exact same error message.
But checking the temp dir

[mschira@m3-login2 temp]$ ls
mrtrix-tmp-rbNkbG.mif

finds a temp file. So that means the problem is not before the pipe but - as the error message suggests on reading again - the second half of the command, the mrmath side…

Dunno a singularity container would help. Not if I am doing a stupid spelling error or something.
M.

Oh, and to test the second half of the command I tried

[mschira@m3-login2 temp]$ mrmath mrtrix-tmp-rbNkbG.mif mean mean_b0_PA.mif -axis 3

… which worked like a charm.

It’s just weird.
M.

Yup exceeded my knowledge - hope the overlords chime in.

Hard to tell from the screenshot, but I think it’s the dash issue again… If you copy/paste the command in here as text (formatted using the code tags), we can actually verify on our systems.

I’ve done a little digging on the dash issue yesterday, and I think I’ve got a ‘fix’ for the option parsing side of things. But as mentioned in the issue description, piping might also need to be fixed independently…

Yea, no, it’s not. I have made very sure it is not.