Reconstruction of the Corpus Callosum

Hi there,

I am trying to manually segment the corpus callosum using the tckgen approach.

I am very new to tractography and all the different options are daunting.

I am running the following:

tckgen -seed_image CC_ROI_291123.mif sub_acq-HARDI_dir-AP_part-mag_dwi_driftCo_TED_gibbsCorrSubVoxShift_wm.mif CC_291123.tck -force

Below is my ROI image:

I get a very messy tractogram which is contaminated with different fibres.

Then I tried to run this again but this time having an exclude ROI drawn in the axial plane to remove any fibres crossing the CST, like below:

But I am still getting a messy tractogram.

I tried an automated approach using TractSeg but because my sample consists of patients with neurodegeneration and movement artefacts, it has been argued that it might not be the best approach.

Could anyone help/guide me please?

Many thanks,
Vasilis

Hi Vasilis

Welcome to tractography mayhem! It is indeed daunting and difficult. :slight_smile: Starting with the corpus callosum is also quite a baptism of fire…

The main thing to know is the tracking algorithm doesn’t know what the bundle is supposed to look like, and especially with probabilistic tractography, most streamlines are going to be false positives, due to the many crossing fibre configurations which will tempt a streamline down a different path than where you want it to go. Hence the mess!