Standalone installation on Linux fails

Hi,

I am trying to install mrtrix3 on a ubuntu 16.04 cluster, and I can’t get past this step:

$ ./configure -static
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “./configure”, line 231, in
if noshared: build_options.application (‘noshared’)
AttributeError: ‘list’ object has no attribute ‘application’

$ ./configure -static -nogui
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “./configure”, line 231, in
if noshared: build_options.application (‘noshared’)
AttributeError: ‘list’ object has no attribute ‘application’

Any ideas? Thanks!

Hi @thomasbeaudry,

I’m not an expert in the internals of the configure script, but having a quick look at the reported line 231 in there, I’ve got the feeling this can be explained by a typo in the script itself, and is specific to the use of the -static build option. That part (the whole block/“paragraph” of code in that bit of configure) only got introduced relatively recently (https://github.com/MRtrix3/mrtrix3/commit/09363c46c2ca838826959535286f048a2764f59e ; Feb 21), and furthermore only got “released” to most of our users last Friday, when the 3rd release candidate (RC3) became available. So I’m not surprised you’d be the first person running into this.

I think this should resolve your issue: open the “configure” script/file in your main MRtrix3 folder directly in any simple text editor, go to line 231, which should read:

if noshared: build_options.application ('noshared')

…and change this line to:

if noshared: build_options.append ('noshared')

…and save those changes to the file. Then, simply try running ./configure -static -nogui again.