Tckgen vs tckedit for ROI tractography

Dear experts,

For my research internship I would like to extract FA values of the corpus callosum. I have came to the point where whole brain tractography is performed, and now I would like to perform tractography for my ROI (corpus callosum) only. As I am a beginner, I could use some advice on how to approach this. I tried some things with manual drawing of ROIs and applying those in the tckedit -include and -exclude options and that works fine. However, I am wondering whether this is the right approach, and if it would be better to use tckgen instead of tckedit. I am a bit overwhelmed by the amount of options that tckgen offers, and would not know which options (and required seeding option) to choose.

Excuse me for my basic question and thanks a lot in advance,
Rianne

1 Like

Hi Rianne,

Firstly, I am presuming that the purpose behind the use of tractography (whether whole-brain or targeted) is to use such in the determination of those voxels to consider as belonging to the corpus callosum.

I tried some things with manual drawing of ROIs and applying those in the tckedit -include and -exclude options and that works fine. However, I am wondering whether this is the right approach …

Is there any specific reason by which you think this may not be the right approach; or is it purely an issue of uncertainty?

If you don’t have the prior experience with software tools or anatomy with which to reconstruct specifically the corpus callosum in a blind / data-driven way, then starting with a whole-brain tractogram and progressively adding and refining ROIs to get the result you want is absolutely the right way to go about it, at least for an N=1 experiment.

I would quickly summarise the justifications for not using this approach as: