tfNBS results interpretation from negative contrast vector

Hi experts:

I am new to tfNBS analysis using connectomstats and though probably a silly question, I am seeking help interpreting the “fwe_1mpvalue.csv” output file from a negative contrast vector.

We had two groups in the two column design matrix and we tested two contrast vectors separately: pos [1, -1] and neg [-1, 1] to see which edges were significantly different.

Both the pos and neg contrast “fwe_1mpvalue.csv” output files contained mostly zeroes. However, the “pos_fwe_1mpvalue” file also had values between 0.001-0.040 (which looked to me like normal p-values) while the “neg_fwe_1mpvalue” file contained values ranging up to 0.99+.

Based on other queries in this forum I see that values in the “fwe_1mpvalue.csv” file are calculated as “fwe_pvalue = 1 - p”.

My questions are:

• does the “fwe_pvalue = 1 - p” apply only to a positive contrast, and would the negative contrast be “fwe_pvalue = -1 - p” ?
  • Or another way of putting it: Would the values in either neg or pos “fwe_pvalue.csv” files need to be above 0.95 to represent a significant difference? And therefore in my example, the significant differences are only observed in the negative contrast since it contains values above 0.95?
  • would the significant p-values in the neg file mean that the second group has increased connectivity in those edges compared to the first group and are the connectivity scores I should be using in the “enhanced.csv” file?

I guess I’m probably confusing myself, but just want to be sure.

Thank you for your time!

Hi @tieg ,

I’m not an expert on this but here’s my understanding -

1. If you were doing a simple t-test, then yes the sign of the contrast only changes the direction of the t-statistic and your first assumption would hold. I would expect to see this in the uncorrected p-values but there can be some variation from this in the FWE-corrected p-values due to randomness in the permutation distribution.