Tips / Tricks for visualization?

Dear all,

I’m looking for any advice, tips or tricks for visualizing large sets of mrtrix data.

We’re frequently working with sub 1mm isotropic data, which can produce huge files. I find myself trying to visualize tracts with file sizes ranging from 10 - 100GB. I’m relatively new to mrtrix, but am impressed with the possibilities. I’ve been a longtime user of fsl tools and dtk/trackvis and am used to being able to pull up full brain results and manipulate those interactively.

I have a cluster at my disposal with tons of RAM available, so generating large datasets is no problem.

I’ve tried tckresample to downsample some data, but am not 100% sure of the effect this has on the actual results. Downsampling a 100GB tck file to 25GB still results in a file that completely seizes my 32GB iMac.

Any advice is appreciated, cheers,

-Chris

OK, that is indeed huge… The problem here is that OpenGL will want these data on the GPU for rendering, and there are no GPUs that I know of equipped with that much RAM. Realistically, there’s no point trying to visualise streamlines files that exceed a GB: framerate will be poor, especially if the graphics card has less RAM than required to hold the data (since the driver will need to swap data on & off the card constantly). But more importantly, with that many tracks being displayed, you simply can’t see any detail. I find 100k - 200k streamlines to be about right to get a decent visualisation of the overall data (which shouldn’t take much more than ~100MB with standard settings). Any more than that and it becomes impossible to discern individual streamlines.

You could reduce the number of streamlines using tckedit -num (assuming the streamline order is random). Resampling will help to some extent, but that won’t give you the several orders of magnitude reduction in file size that you’re after here…