Tractography gold standard pipeline

Dear All,

I am new to mrtrix. I have two 20 subejct DWI sets (60 directions, 2^3 mm^2 voxels, b value set =700 1st set, b=3000 2nd set). Given the large array of tractography and anatomically constrained routines in mrtrix, we need to do a (mostly internal) parameter space search study to optimize processing against a ‘gold standard’. Could you recommend a pipeline that:

1. provides as “realistic” gold standard (close to in vivo brain human data)
  2. readily accessible/publicly available
  3. Readily available goodness-of-fit measures.
    We basically look for a pipeline to perform our parameter study that will be efficient time-wise but having certain generalizability. Rigor is important; rigor aside, time is of the essence.

Please advise, thank you

Octavian.

Hi Octavian,

I think it may help to disambiguate precisely what you are looking for in terms of a “gold standard”:

• If you are using a reconstruction pipeline to define a “gold standard”, then any “goodness-of-fit measure” will only be capable of comparing any other reconstruction to that “gold standard”, which itself isn’t necessarily correct (since it is itself generated from tractography). Moreover, by definition the pipeline you used to define the “gold standard” will always provide the best fit, likely rendering a parameter search redundant.

• If you want a more robust “gold standard” to which goodness-of-fit measures are available and a reasonable indicator of performance, you probably need to be looking into DWI phantoms. A reasonable amount of parameter searching has already been performed using Tractometer as an example.

Hope that helps you in finding a direction for your research
Rob

Thank you, Rob
re Tractometer. Can one share the most successful pipelines using mrtrix tools used in ISMRM 2015 challenge or related studies such as