Using mrtrix3 with designer

Hello!
I am trying to run the designer pipeline (https://github.com/NYU-DiffusionMRI/DESIGNER/blob/master/designer/DESIGNER.py), but I get an error ‘cannot find path to mrtrix’ and 'no module named ‘mrtrix3’
I am working on windows 10 and have installed mrtrix using msys. Mrview works through it normally. I think the problem might be that the mrtrix files are in msys64/mingw64/bin and /lib/mrtrix3 and I can’t add them to path together.
I have little programming knowledge and can’t find the solution on my own.

I’ve no experience with the designer pipeline, but it looks like the check for whether MRtrix is in the PATH assumes that you’ve placed the executables in a folder that contains the token mrtrix3 – which is not a particularly safe assumption, as your case illustrates.

I am however surprised that the executables would be located in /msys64/mingw64/bin, and the library in /lib/mrtrix3. That’s not the way to install MRtrix3. I assume this is a Windows install? Why was the installation split in this way? More information on what’s expected on our docs - particularly this statement:

The only requirement is that these 3 folders are co-located alongside each other, so that the executables can find the MRtrix3 shared library, and the scripts can find the requisite python modules.

I recommend we try to ensure your installation adheres to expectations, and then we can try to sort out the designer script issue.

Assuming you’ve got a ‘compliant’ install (i.e. where the MRtrix3 bin, lib & share folders are co-located), and you’re confident MRtrix is in the PATH (i.e. you can invoked e.g. mrinfo from the command-line), and things still don’t work because the parent folder doesn’t contain the token mrtrix3, then we’ll need to fix things up. I have a feeling we’re going to have to get in touch with the developers and get them to use our recommended approach to locate the MRtrix3 modules.