Using tractography seeds (mni coordinates)

Hi All,

I’m quite new to using MRTrix3 and have started running an analysis using tckgen. I’ve successfully generated a tractogram, however my analysis requires studying specific tracks like the superior longitudinal fasciculus and accordingly I am given these coordinates x = −35, y = −27, z = 44 mm. How would I go about achieving this output for visualisation?

Hi Yuscah,

There’s a few layers of both complexity and experimental flexibility here, so I’ll have to do my best to limit the scope of my response…

“Studying specific tracts”

If I interpret your question more generally based on this specific extract, I would note that there are ways in which this could be done that would not involve the use of MNI coordinates. So you don’t necessarily want to invest huge amounts of effort into MNI coordinate transformation if it’s actually a bit of a red herring.

Transforming MNI coordinates to subject space

Let’s assume here that you simply want to determine the position in the image data of your individual subject that “corresponds” to a specific MNI coordinate. What this requires is:

1. Some form of image registration in order to achieve spatial correspondence between subject data and the MNI template;

2. Transformation of MNI coordinates from template space to subject space.

Point 1 will likely be best-posed if you have performed adequate distortion correction of your DWI data, and inter-modal registration, such that you can use the subject’s T1-weighed image for registration with the MNI template.