General questions for atlas creation with non-ODF data

Dear MRtrix experts,

I have general questions, I’m looking for advises regarding the following strategies. I’m not working with ODF so I’m wondering how the general strategies depicted in the forum can be applied on my data. I wish to disclaim that I’m a beginner in such processing.

Please find below some figures, I have 3 objectives :

• demonstrate that the some structures (for instance the singularity in blue with a triangular shape) has a different fiber orientation
  • create a parcellation map based on fiber orientation
  • extract relevant feature like the size and volume of this structure

Strategies 1 (done except the parcellation):

• estimate tensor in subject spaces using dwi2tensor (using MRtrix)
  • warp tensor in template spaces (using ANTs)
  • average all tensors in template spaces to get a unique average tensor (using ANTs)
  • extract eigenvector of the averaged tensor (using MRtrix)
  • using FACT to compute the streamline (using MRtrix)
  • display the streamlines and create a parcellation atlas in template space

Strategies 2 (done except the parcellation):

• compute tractography in subject spaces using Tensor_Det or Tensor_Prob using DWI data (using MRtrix)
  • warp all individual tractgrams in template spaces using ‘Registration: using transformations generated from other packages’ (using MRtrix and ANTs)
  • add tractgrams using tckedit (using MRtrix)
  • display the streamlines and create a parcellisation atlas in template space

Please find below some questions:

1. Which strategy would you recommand ? Maybe none of them ? For strategies 1, my concern is that tckgen FACT differs a lot from Tensor_Det or Tensor_Prob.