TCKDFC question

Hi All,

I am new to MRtrix.

mrtrix.readthedocs.io/en/latest/reference/commands/tckdfc.html

describes the new tool tckdfc but says only that preprocessed fmri data should be given as input.

Can anyone please clarify what kind of preprocessed fmri data is acceptable?

i.e., should it be standard space?
Is preprocessed data from any pipeline okay (e.g., fmriprep)?
Should it be volumetric *.nii files or will cifti files work?

Thanks,

Dianne

Here’s what I figured out about my own question. Perhaps it will help someone else:

Input images:

• tract file: any *.tck file (including specific tracts extracted from the giant mass of streamlines).
  • bold image: A preprocessed 4D functional image registered into the space of the B0 images.

The smaller the track image, the faster it runs.

static is WAY faster than dynamic (dynamic with the BATMAN tutorial data, a million streamlines and the T1 template took roughly 30 minutes on my Mac Pro)

BOLD image

I used a 4d volumetric fmriprep output with 250 timepoints as my bold image. I coregistered the bold image to the B0 image as suggested by the Calamante 2017 paper:

Create transform matrix:
flirt -in bold.nii.gz -ref mean_b0_preprocessed.nii.gz -out bold2b0.mat

Generate coregistered image (bold coregistered to B0):

flirt -in bold.nii.gz -applyxfm -init bold2b0.mat -out bold_coreg.nii.gz -paddingsize 0.0 -interp trilinear -ref mean_b0_preprocessed.nii.gz

Create mif image (I don’t think I have to, but I wanted to try):

mrconvert bold_coreg.nii.gz bold_coreg.mif

TKDFC Requirements

You must specify:

• -static or -dynamic
  • the template file (the space the output should be in),
  • the tck file (you can actually choose any *.tck file you want)
  • the coregistered bold image
  • the output name

Here’s a minimal tckdfc command that does not complain:

tckdfc -static -template T1_coreg.mif sift_1mio.tck bold_coreg.mif tdfc_out.mif