Dwi2mask: holes in mask images

Hi, I am new to mrtrix and I am having some trouble with generating appropriate masks for my images. All dwi data has been motion/eddy corrected in fsl. I then converted the data to .mif format:

mrconvert -fslgrad bvecs bvals data.nii.gz data.mif

and I am running dwi2mask on these images:

dwi2mask data.mif data_brainmask.mif

However, several subjects have holes/gaps in their mask images:

I may be missing something obvious, but any advice would be appreciated. As you might imagine, this is creating problems down the line when I try to coregister across subjects.

Best,
Rachael

To clarify–I realize it is possible to manually edit these masks in mrview, but would like to avoid that since I have many subjects. The problem is occurring in most of the subjects.

Hi @rgrazioplene,

dwi2mask uses a very simple strategy, and is indeed not perfect. The first thing to check here is probably whether you have corrected for bias fields (intensity inhomogeneities)?

If not, maybe have a go at dwibiascorrect first, and see if dwi2mask performs better after correcting for bias fields. :slight_smile:

Cheers,
Thijs

1 Like